One of the core features of views is the ability to hide specified fields (columns, in grid views). When a field is hidden, it is not deleted and none of the values in that field are affected—it's just hidden from the particular view you're using to look at your table.
In the GIF below you can see that hiding specific fields changes their visibility in realtime. Note that because these records are grouped, some fields are still visible. In order to hide a primary field, grouping cannot be turned on.
Try hiding fields when:
- You're trying to tidy up your view and only show necessary fields.
- You have computed fields or complex formula fields that don't need to be immediately accessible by editors and creators.
- You need to prevent people from seeing certain fields in a view share link.
Pro and Enterprise plan users who want to take extra precautions to ensure that the field visibility in the views used for their view share links or embedded views won't get accidentally changed can lock views, which will prevent all collaborators from altering a view's configuration until it's been unlocked by someone with creator permissions.
Revealing a hidden field
If a field is hidden within your current view, you can un-hide it from the field visibility menu by toggling the switch next to the field you'd like to show.
You can copy the configuration of hidden/shown fields from one view to another by using the copy view configuration feature.
As fields can be hidden/shown in every view type, field visibility can be be copied from any view type to any other view type.