There are a few options for added layers of security when sharing a base share or view share link. Check out the information below to learn more about each of these options.
IN THIS ARTICLEOverview
Disabling a base or view share link
Data copying permissions
Restricted base and view shares
Restricting syncing in view shares
You can manage your base and view share links from the base share dialog, which can be accessed by clicking the Share button in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
At the top of the base share dialog, there is a summary of all the ways content within the base is shared, including the number of collaborators, whether or not there is a base share link, and the number of view share links over all of the views in the whole base.
To manage your base share link settings, scroll past the collaborators down to where it says "Shared base link." In this section, you can see whether or not the base has a share link, and change the base share link settings.
You can also collectively manage all of your view share links across the entire base by clicking on the Shared view links option.
This will bring you to a view share link manager that will give you a more detailed summary of all of the shared views that you've created. From here, you can copy all the view share links, preview all the view share links, get the embed codes for all your view share links, and edit all the view share links.
When you create a new base, all shared base links are disabled. Sometimes, it may become necessary to disable a shared base link after it is created. To disable a shared base link, go to the base share dialog, then click the dropdown to the right of where it says "Anyone can view (but not edit) this base with this read-only link," then reselect Disable link sharing.
To disable a view share link, go to the view with the share link that you'd like to disable, open up the view share dialog, and click the Disable shared view link button.
Note that if you disable and re-enable a share link (or click the refresh URL button) it will generate a new share link and invalidate the old one. Anyone attempting to use an old share link will get an error message.
When creating either a base or view share link, there is a toggle that says either "Allow viewers to copy the data in this base" or "Allow viewers to copy data out of this view," respectively.
If this option is enabled, then:
- Any attachments in the base can be downloaded
- All cells in the table can be copied at once through the copy and paste keyboard shortcuts (C and V)
- For a base share link or an embedded base, there will be a "Copy base" button that, when clicked, will allow any people viewing the base to make copies of the base for themselves
- There will be an option to download a CSV version of the data in the current view
If this option is disabled, then:
- Downloading attachments is not allowed (however, attachments can still be viewed, so be careful, especially with image files!)
- You cannot copy and paste batches of cells using keyboard shortcuts
- Neither the Copy base button nor the option to download a CSV will be made available
You can restrict access to a base or view share link with a password. If you do this, anyone that wants to view the contents of your share link will need both the randomly generated URL and the password.
To restrict access to a base or view share link with a password, simply turn on the toggle that says "Restrict access with a password."
Doing this will bring up a dialog box in which you can enter the desired password for your share link. Click the blue Set password button when you're ready.
After you've set the password, you'll see that the share link dialog will have changed to show a lock icon, and what used to say "Restrict access with a password" will instead say "Access is password-protected."
Once access is password-protected, anyone who accesses the share link will see a page with a password input box. To see the contents of the share link, they will need to enter the password you set.
To change the password on the password-protected share link, click the pencil icon. This will bring up a dialog box in which you can set a new password. Setting a new password means that the old password will no longer work.
To remove the password protection from your share link, turn off the toggle. Doing this will bring up a warning message asking you to confirm the removal of the password protection.
You can restrict access to a base or view share link to an email domain. If you do this, anyone that wants to view the contents of your share link will need both the randomly generated URL and to be logged in to an Airtable account using an email address from the specified email domain.
To restrict access to a base or view share link by domain, simply turn on the toggle that says "Restrict access to an email domain." Note that you can only specify a single domain per view share link; if you'd like to share with multiple domains, we recommend duplicating your current view and configuring the share settings to share with each specific domain.
Doing this will bring up a dialog box in which you can specify the email domain to which you would like to restrict access. Click the blue Set email domain button when you're ready.
After you've domain-restricted the share link, you'll see that the share link dialog will have changed to show a lock icon, and what used to say "Restrict access to an email domain" will instead say "Access restricted to [domain]."
Once access is domain-restricted, only people who are logged into Airtable accounts of that specified email domain will be able to see the contents of the share link. Anyone who accesses the share link while logged out or logged into an Airtable account of a different email domain will see a page informing them that they do not have permission to view the share link contents.
To change the email domain on the domain-restricted share link, click the pencil icon. This will bring up a dialog box in which you can set a new email domain.
To disable the domain restriction on your share link, turn off the toggle. Doing this will bring up a warning message asking you to confirm removal of the domain restriction.
Restricting syncing in view shares
You can also choose to allow a particular view's data to be synced to another base. All view share links default to not allowing a sync to be set up.
Additionally, if you toggle the option on, then a new option will appear in the link share window allowing you to choose a base to sync the view to.