The Airtable Admin Panel allows you to manage users and what they have access to. For more information on removing or adding collaborators within the Airtable UI check out this support article. However, as an admin, it is preferable to use the admin panel as you are only able to remove or add collaborators in the Airtable UI in bases or workspaces in which you are a collaborator.
Occasionally, it is necessary to add another user to an existing workspace or base or modify an existing user’s access. These circumstances include:
- The original owner of the workspace has been deactivated
- You as the admin want to investigate what data is stored in a workspace or base
Note that there is a difference between deactivating a user and removing them. Deactivating a user prevents them from being able to log in to Airtable in the future. Removing a user only removes their existing workspace and/or base privileges, but the user could log back into Airtable and create new workspaces and bases.
These actions are often done in tandem. For example, when a user leaves your organization, you want to deactivate their account such that they can no longer access Airtable. You may also want to transition all of their workspaces to a new owner to properly steward the information the user stored in Airtable which you can do by using the “Remove enterprise collaborator” option.
Removing users from a workspace
First, navigate to the Workspace management page in the Admin Panel.
Then click on the list of collaborators under the “User collabs” column. This will pull up a new pane where you can further review all collaborators and their access.
If the user is listed as a workspace collaborator, you can click on the Menu and then click “Unshare from this workspace.”
A popup will appear asking you to confirm this user’s removal from the workspace. Clicking “OK” will remove the user from the workspace.
Workspaces with only one owner
Airtable requires that all workspaces have at least one user who is an Owner of the workspace. If you try and remove a workspace owner, and they are the only owner, you will see a message that says, “You may not unshare a workspace's only owner.”
At the top of the pane is the ability to add a new owner to the workspace. Once you perform that action, you can then remove the original owner. Many admins refer to this as “transferring ownership” of the workspace from one user to another.
There is no functionality within the admin panel that allows admins to add new users to the plan. Any new user must be added via the normal flow of being invited to a base or workspace by an existing collaborator.
Removing users from a base
Similar to how you can remove users from a workspace, you can also remove them from a particular base via the Base management section of the Admin Panel.
First, navigate to the “Base management” section by clicking on “Bases” in the menu on the left.
If you click on the list of collaborators in the “User collaborator column,” then you’ll see a new pane that lists all collaborators and their permission levels in that base. You can then click on the “Menu” button to remove any particular collaborator from the base.
Note that you are not able to remove workspace collaborators from the “Base management” section. The “Unshare from this base” option will be greyed out. Removing those collaborators will require you to follow the steps in the section above.
Remove a user from all workspaces and bases
Sometimes, you want to remove a user from all workspaces and bases that they collaborate on. This is often done after a user leaves an organization. The steps for removing (and adding) collaborators in the admin panel are outlined in this support article.
Programmatically removing users
All of the actions covered in the section above are also supported in our Admin API. If you need to remove a user from many workspaces and bases or want to automate this process more generally, then you should consider using the Admin API.
What is the difference between deactivating and removing a user?
Deactivating a user prevents them from being able to log in to Airtable in the future. Removing a user only removes their existing workspace and/or base privileges, but the user could log back into Airtable and create new workspaces and bases.
How do I remove an "Upgrader"?
"Upgrader" user types only exist on FLA plans. For more info on how to manage upgraders, please check out this support article.