Enterprise administrators can use the admin panel to deactivate or provision (reactivate) users. This can currently only be done if your organization’s license is an ELA plan. Guidance is outlined below around how to accomplish the same results for FLA plan Enterprise accounts as well.
NOTEThere is no functionality within the admin panel that allows admins to add new users to the plan. Any new user must be added via the normal flow of being invited to a base or workspace by an existing collaborator.
IN THIS ARTICLEActivate or deactivate users on an ELA plan
Activate or deactivate users on an FLA plan
Adding or removing admins
Activate or deactivate users on an ELA plan
From the Admin Panel, an administrator is able to Deactivate or Provision (reactivate) a user via the “Menu” option on the right-hand side of the user list. When a user is deactivated, that will revoke their license and block their account from accessing Airtable. If the user is later reactivated, they will regain access to Airtable, including the workspaces and bases they formerly were part of. They will remain in the user list as a "Deactivated" user and can be “Provisioned” (reactivated) at any time by an admin.
There is currently no way to remove deactivated users from the user list. We often find it's useful for teams to see who, at any time, had a license. However, you can filter deactivated users out of your results if needed.
The GIF below demonstrates how you would provision or deactivate a user and how you can use the advanced filter options to generate a list of only active users. If needed, admins can bookmark the URL of the filtered “active users only” list in order to avoid seeing deactivated users.
Activate or deactivate users on an FLA plan
On an FLA plan, an admin will only see a list of provisioned users. Unlike the ELA plan covered above, no "Deactivated" users will be listed. This is because the user may have other workspaces associated with their email address that exist outside of your organization’s FLA agreement.
To remove an Enterprise collaborator from an FLA plan, navigate to the "Users" section of the admin panel and find the user you wish to remove. Then scroll to the right to find the "Menu" option.
From the menu options, you can see that you are able to perform different actions. For our purposes, you will want to click on the "Remove enterprise collaborator" button.
Removing the enterprise collaborator will cause a message box to pop-up asking you to confirm the collaborator's removal.
After removal, a new message box will appear that summarizes the workspace(s) and/or base(s) the collaborator was removed from. If the collaborator was an "Upgrader" then you will also see that their upgrader permissions were removed.
Once removed, a collaborator's user information will no longer show up in the admin panel unless they are added to a workspace or base associated with your FLA license at a future point in time. Collaborators can also be removed directly from the workspaces and/or bases they have access to by the owners of those workspaces and bases.
An admin can see what a user currently has access to by clicking on their user ID, or by looking them up in the bases or workspaces section.
NOTEIf a user that no longer has access to any bases or workspaces is still showing up on the user list, it is likely they have an Admin or Upgrader user type rather than the more common Collaborator type.
Adding or removing Admins
Depending on which license type your organization has there are slightly different options. FLA licenses include “Upgrader” user types, whereas ELA licenses do not. However, for either license type, you will need to be an admin in order to remove another admin.
An admin can remove a user's "Upgrader" permissions from the user list through the Admin Panel. To do this, find the “Menu” option at the far right of the page and click on “Revoke upgrade permission.”
To remove an admin, check out this support article.
As an admin, how do I remove a non-federated (external) user on an ELA Enterprise plan?
There are 2 ways to remove external users from ELA plans (e.g., \firstname.lastname@example.org is a workspace or base collaborator and doesn't appear in the Users list in the admin panel):
- Checking all of the workspaces and bases owned by users in your organization and manually removing the user(s). This process can be tedious depending upon the number of workspaces and bases that your organization has.
- Programmatically checking and removing using the Enterprise API