Enterprise administrators can use the admin panel to deactivate or reactivate (provision) users. This can currently only be done if the plan is an ELA plan. However, guidance is also outlined below around how to accomplish the same results for FLA plan enterprise accounts.
NOTEAdmin panel can't be used to add new users to the plan. Any new user follows the normal flow of being invited to a base or workspace.
Activate or deactivate users on an ELA plan
From the Admin Panel, an administrator is able to Deactivate or Reactivate (provision) a user via the menu on the right-hand side of the user list. When a user is deactivated, that will revoke their license and remove them from any/all workspaces and bases associated with the Enterprise account. They will remain in the user list as a "deactivated" user and can be reactivated or provisioned at any time by an admin.
There is currently no way to remove the deactivated user from the user list (we often find it's useful for teams to see who, at any time, had a license), but you can filter them out of your results if needed.
This GIF demonstrates how you would provision or deactivate a user, and how you can use the advanced filter options to generate a list of only active users. (They are also able to bookmark the URL of that filtered list if that's a view they want to return to regularly to avoid recreating it each time.)
Managing users on a FLA plan
On an FLA plan, an administrator will only see a list of provisioned users (no "deactivated" users are listed). There is no way to "deactivate" a user on and FLA plan, because the user may have other Pro workspaces associated with their email address, and we don't currently have a way to remove access only from the Enterprise plans. *
To remove a user or "deactivate" a user from an FLA plan, they currently need to be removed directly from the workspaces and/or bases they have access to. Once they are removed, they will no longer show up in admin panel.
An admin can see what a user currently has access to by clicking on their user ID, or by looking them up in the bases or workspaces section.
NOTEIf a user that no longer has access to any bases or workspaces is still showing up on the user list, it is likely they have an Admin or Upgrader user type rather than the more common Collaborator type.
You can remove an Admin and/or Upgrader from the user list through Admin Panel. A current Admin can remove the Upgrader user type directly form the user list menu at the far right of the page:
A current Admin can also remove an Admin user type via the settings section of the admin panel: