How often do tables sync?
When you configure a table sync, you can choose to manually or automatically sync changes to your base. Automatic syncing occurs approximately once every 5 minutes and is only available on paid plans.
Why can’t I see the option to turn on sync for my view?
We currently only support syncing from grid views.
What if the view share link is password-protected or email domain-restricted?
We respect password and email domain restrictions. For example, if the view share link is restricted to dundermifflin.com, a dundermifflin.com Airtable account will be required to sync that view to any base. Learn more about sync permissions here.
What happens if the view share link is removed or regenerated at the source?
The sync will pause until it is re-authenticated. You’ll see an error icon ⚠️, along with the time the table last synced.
To re-authenticate, you’ll need a new syncable view share link. Then, click the dropdown next to the destination table, select Update sync configuration, and provide the new link.
I have a linked record field linking to a Synced destination table. The record links are mysteriously unlinking. What is occurring?
It’s likely the case that someone is adjusting the filters (or hiding records) in the source view. If a record is filtered out of the source view, then, depending on your particular sync's settings, that record will in turn be removed from the destination table. If a record is removed from the destination table, that record will unlink from any linked record fields to that table.
You can address this issue is by locking the source view 🔐 (premium plans only), to prevent other collaborators from inadvertently changing the filters. You can also consider renaming the source view to warn people to not change the view’s filters.
What happens if the Airtable account of the person who set up the sync is deactivated?
If the shared view is domain restricted and the user that set up the sync loses access to the source base, the sync will pause. It may be worthwhile for an admin user to set up important syncs so that they are not interrupted.
If the option to delete records when they are deleted or hidden in the source table is enabled, how can I determine if one of the synced records has been deleted or hidden?
You can add a button field with the ‘Open Source Record’ action.. If the button is grayed out, the record has been deleted or hidden in the source view.
Will the synced table count toward the destination base’s record limits?
Yes. For example, if you sync a view with 1,000 records from a source base (where the records originate from), the destination base (where you want to sync the records) will count the 1,000 synced records towards that base's total record limit.
Will the attachments in a synced table count toward the destination base’s attachment limits?
Yes. Similar to the question above, attachments in a synced table will count against the attachment limit in that synced table's base.
Can I “daisy chain” syncs by syncing from the destination base to other bases?
Is there a way to filter for records that were deleted, or filtered out of source view in the source base?
Yes. If you choose to keep records in the destination base when they are deleted in the source base, then you can add a sync source record button field. If the button is not clickable, then the record was deleted, hidden, or filtered out of view in the source base.
Will record comments sync over to the destination base?
No. Record comments are scoped only to the base where the record resides. The records that reside in the destination table have a different record ID than the records in the source table, which means that even though there is a connection via the sync that you've set up, the records in each table are technically unique.
NOTEWe’re excited to share access to this long-awaited feature. Please send us your feedback and ideas here.