Taking and restoring base snapshots
  • 31 Jan 2024
  • 3 Minuten zu lesen
  • Dunkel
    Hell
  • pdf

Taking and restoring base snapshots

  • Dunkel
    Hell
  • pdf

The content is currently unavailable in German. You are viewing the default English version.
Article Summary

Using a base snapshot, you can back up a base and restore it to an earlier version. Airtable automatically takes occasional snapshots of your bases, and you can also manually take a snapshot. Below, you’ll learn how to manually take a snapshot of an Airtable base immediately before restructuring or otherwise making a large number of changes to your base, and then restore that base when needed.

Note

Taking a snapshot won't affect the base you create it in. Restoring a base from a snapshot will create a new base without affecting your existing base. The new base created by a snapshot can be used as a reference for recovery purposes, or you can switch over to this base completely moving forward. Bases restored from snapshots do not have revision history but will include record comments.

Introduction

Plan availability

All plans with varying limits

Permissions

  • Editor permissions or higher are needed in the base where you want to take a manual snapshot.

  • Users at any base permission level can use a base snapshot to restore that base in a workspace where they have Creator permissions.

Platform(s)

Web/Browser, Mac app, and Windows app

How to take a snapshot

Airtable will automatically take snapshots of your bases at set intervals (after a certain amount of data is entered), but users with Editor permissions or higher can also manually take a base snapshot.

To manually take a snapshot:

  1. Open the base history menu icon(which resembles a clock running backwards in time) and click the Snapshots option:

  2. Then, select the "Take a snapshot" option:

  3. It may take a few seconds for your snapshot to complete. A message will appear. Click Okay.

  4. Once it has been completed, it will show up in the snapshots menu. Depending upon the workspace plan, snapshots are stored for different periods of time. Learn more below.

How to restore a base snapshot:

  1. Click the base history icon, then snapshots, then choose the snapshot you'd like to restore:

  2. You will then be prompted to select a workspace into which to place the restored snapshot of your base. 

  3. This is a reminder that snapshots are a previous version of the base. Since other changes may have occurred since the snapshot was taken, Airtable creates a new base in the workspace of your choice. We do not overwrite the current version of the base.

Snapshot history limitations

Your snapshots won't stick around forever—snapshots are only accessible for a certain amount of time depending on your workspace's pricing plan.

  • Free plan - Able to see the past 2 weeks of snapshot history.

  • Team plan - 1 years of snapshot history is saved starting at your time of upgrade.

  • Business plan - 2 years of snapshot history will be saved starting at your time of upgrade.

  • Enterprise plan - 3 years of snapshot history is saved starting at your time of upgrade. Your admin may customize this timeframe.

NOTE

Snapshots have no revision history -- but comments are retained from the source base, like any other data.

FAQs

How often are base snapshots taken automatically?

The exact scheduling of snapshots is based on the count of user actions taken in a base. On a base that's very actively used, you'll probably get at least one snapshot a day. For bases not used as frequently, snapshot cadence will adjust accordingly. You can get a sense of the regularity around which you can expect snapshots to be taken, presuming usage levels remain steady, by viewing your current snapshot intervals after a few days of using your base at a typical rate.

How often can base snapshots be taken manually?

If you take a base snapshot manually, you'll need to wait for a little while before you can take another. This time period is typically just a few hours, but can vary depending on how many changes are made in your base since that last snapshot was taken.

Do base snapshots include interfaces?

Yes! Base snapshots do include interfaces, and any edits currently pending on those interfaces.

Can snapshots “overwrite” a base?

No, snapshots create a new base. The existing base cannot be overwritten to be returned to a previous state.

Can I schedule snapshots to be taken at automated intervals?

No. Airtable does not currently support this feature.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?