Viewing and changing permissions
  • 04 Oct 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light

Viewing and changing permissions

  • Dark
    Light

The method for viewing and changing collaborator permissions is slightly different depending on if the collaborator is a workspace collaborator or a base collaborator.

NOTE

Enterprise admins have access to the Admin Panel which provides additional collaborator management tools.

Updating permissions for Workspace Collaborators

To view or change the permission settings of a workspace collaborator, go to the workspace share dialog, which can be accessed by clicking on the big green share button next to a workspace's name on the homepage.

6766474715543collaborationWorkspaceModal06142022.jpg

You can update any collaborator's permissions level by using the dropdown to the right of their name, or click the X to remove them from the workspace entirely.

6766673111703collaborationWorkspacePermissionsRemove061452022.jpg

Updating permissions for Base Collaborators

To view or change the permission settings of a base collaborator, go to the relevant base share dialog, which can be accessed by clicking the share button in the top right corner of the base.

6765841123479collaborationShareFind06102022.jpg

The base share dialog includes a "Manage" button. Clicking on this button will show you which collaborators with access to the base are workspace collaborators and which are base collaborators.

6765843199767collaborationShareModal06132022.jpg

To change a collaborator's permission level, select the permission level you want from the dropdown menu next to that collaborator's name.

6766134480407collaborationManagePermissions06132022.jpg

To remove a collaborator, click the checkbox next to their name and click the "Remove x collaborator(s)" button.

6766140088087collaboratorRemove06132022.jpg

A few general tips on changing permission levels:

  • You cannot change permission levels for a base collaborator from the workspace share dialog. Similarly, you cannot change permission levels for a workspace collaborator from a base share dialog. However, in a base share modal, you'll see an arrow icon 6766240368023ScreenShot2022-06-14at82918AM.png to click from the base share management into the appropriate workspace share managment modal to change that workspace collaborator's permissions.
  • You cannot change permission levels for yourself (or anyone else) if doing so would grant you greater edit access to the data. For example: if you are an editor, you cannot grant yourself or anyone else creator permissions; if you are a read-only collaborator, you cannot grant yourself or anyone else editor permissions.

Was this article helpful?