- 09 Nov 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
How collaborators impact billing
- Updated on 09 Nov 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
In Airtable, collaborators (users) can be added to any individual workspaces, bases, and/or interfaces.
- On the Free plan, collaborators at Read-only permission levels are unlimited, so you can add as many collaborators of those types as you'd like. However, a Free workspace will have a limit of 5 collaborators with Editor permissions or above and a limit of 50 collaborators with Commenter permissions. If you attempt to add more than 5 collaborators with Editor or higher permissions or 50 collaborators with Commenter permissions, then you'll be asked to upgrade.
- On Team self-serve workspace plans, any user with a permission level of Commenter, Editor, Creator, or Owner is classified as billable. This means you will be charged for adding them as workspace, base, or interface collaborators. However, Read-only collaborators are classified as non-billable.
- On Business self-serve plans, any collaborator with a permission level of Editor, Creator, or Owner is classified as billable. This means you will be charged for adding them as workspace, base, or interface collaborators. However, Commenter and Read-only collaborators are classified as non-billable.
- On sales-managed Business and Enterprise Scale plans, pricing is calculated differently. Contact our Sales team for more information.
- For details and pricing for each plan, please visit airtable.com/pricing.
Consult the article above.
Please see this article which includes more details about charges for base and workspace collaborators.
Permission levels define what a collaborator can and cannot edit on a workspace or base. Click here for a complete overview of permission levels.
You can see who counts as a billable collaborator on your workspace from your workspace's settings page. You'll see all base / interface collaborators under "Billable Collaborators," and if you click the Add or manage workspace collaborators button below that list, you will get a dialog that shows all workspace collaborators (excluding base collaborators ).
To find a full list of collaborators on your workspace, please access the workspace settings page from a laptop or desktop. The list will include both base / interface collaborators and workspace collaborators.
- If you would like to change the permission level of a workspace collaborator, click Add or manage workspace collaborators.
- If you would like to change the permission level of a base collaborator, click Manage base collaborators in blue under each base they have access to.
Any collaborator can add other collaborators at their permission level or a lower permission level. For example, a commenter can add other commenters or read-only collaborators, but they cannot add an editor or a creator. Read-only collaborators can only invite other read-only collaborators.
For monthly plans
- If you add a billable collaborator to a workspace on a monthly plan, you won't be charged until the next monthly billing date (which is typically the same day of the month as when the workspace was first upgraded). On that day, you'll be charged a prorated amount for the period of the previous month during which the collaborator had billable access to the workspace, as well as for the forthcoming month.
- If you remove a billable collaborator from a workspace on a monthly plan, on the next monthly billing date you will receive a prorated refund of Airtable Credits for the days that the collaborator did not have billable access to the upgraded workspace.
For annual plans
- If you add a billable collaborator to a workspace on an annual plan, you will initially be charged for the full remaining annual commitment for that collaborator. If you remove a billable collaborator from a workspace on the annual plan, then you will be granted a refund in Airtable credits prorated to the day the collaborator was removed.
- Adding a collaborator: Three months after upgrading a workspace to an annual Team plan ($240/billable collaborator/year), you add a billable collaborator to the workspace. You would then be charged an additional $180, for the new collaborator's access for the remaining nine months of the annual commitment.
- Removing a collaborator: Ten months after upgrading a workspace to an annual Team plan ($240/billable collaborator/year), you remove one billable collaborator from the workspace. You would then receive a prorated refund of $40 of Airtable Credits for annual commitment's remaining two months.
These examples are simplified for the sake of clarity - any of these charges or refunds would be prorated to the day any billable collaborators are added or removed.
While granting collaborators permissions to do certain actions like editing or creating records (among others) will make them billable collaborators on paid workspaces, there are a number of free ways to collaborate with others in Airtable. These options include creating a read-only share link for a view in your base (you can even allow data from your view to be synced, so others can use your data in their own workflows!), emailing the content of records to people with no Airtable account, and creating a form to allow non-collaborators to submit new records to a table in your base.