How to grant Upgrader access (FLA Only)
  • 07 Jul 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light

How to grant Upgrader access (FLA Only)

  • Dark
    Light

This article covers how Airtable admins are able to give other users the Upgrader access on an Enterprise account. The Upgrader user type is only available on FLA licenses. For ELA license customers you can learn how to add Admin user types here.

Overview

Since FLA plans are intended to allow only certain workspaces at the organization to be upgraded to the Enterprise plan level, this can create a friction point for collaboration. Enter the “Upgrader” user role! Upgraders are able to elevate a particular workspace they own to the Enterprise level on an individual basis.

Since not every Admin is (or would want to be) an Owner of every Airtable workspace associated with your organization, the Upgrader role gives certain individuals in your organization the ability to connect various workspaces to your organization’s Enterprise plan. However, if you would like to have Upgrader access as an Admin, then you can follow the same steps below for yourself as you would for another user in your organization.

Granting Upgrader access

Follow these steps to give a user Upgrader access:

  1. From the Admin Panel, navigate to the Users page.
  2. Search for a user by name or email or scroll through the list of users.
  3. To the right of the user’s row click the ellipsis (three-dot) icon.
  4. This will open a modal of actions where admins can click “Grant Upgrader access.”
  5. The user should now have an “Upgrader” tag displayed next to their name.

how_to_grant_upgrader_permission

your title goes here

Users that do not have an email domain that matches the domain or domains of your organization are considered “External.” These users are unable to be granted Upgrader access since they are outside of your organization.

Revoking Upgrader access

To revoke a user’s Upgrader access follow the same steps listed above. For any users who currently have Upgrader access, admins will see a “Revoke Upgrader access” option in the modal of actions.

how_to_upgrader_revoke

FAQs

Why don’t “Upgrader” user types exist for ELA license types?

For ELA license types, all workspaces created by enterprise users are automatically placed on the Enterprise plan. This is not true for FLA licenses, where users can have a mixture of workspaces on various Airtable plan types.

How do I upgrade a workspace after being granted "Upgrader" privileges?

Check out this support article for more information on upgrading a workspace to your organization's Enterprise plan.


Was this article helpful?