Moving a base from one workspace to another workspace
  • 07 Jul 2022
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Moving a base from one workspace to another workspace

  • Dark
    Light

Moving a base from one workspace to another can be a great collaborative tool! This article covers the ins and outs of everything you need to know about moving a base between workspaces.

NOTE

In order to move a base from one workspace to another, you will need to have owner permissions in both workspaces.

Overview

There are two ways to move a base from one workspace to another workspace.

You can mouse over a base icon to reveal the drag handle (which appears as a set of six stacked dots). Click and hold your cursor on the drag handle, then drag and drop the base icon into another workspace.

11502665200701-drag-n-drop.gif

Alternatively, you can click on the base's dropdown menu and select the "Move base to another workspace" option.

4407109474199accessmenufromworkspacepage1.gif

General considerations

Please be aware that when you move a base from one workspace to another, this may change which collaborators have access to a base. Moving a base from one workspace to another may also change the permission levels of users with access to the base.

  • Any person who is a workspace collaborator from the original workspace who is not also a member of the new workspace will lose access to the base.
  • Any person who is not a workspace collaborator from the original workspace but is a member of the new workspace will gain access to the base, at their specified permission level for the new workspace.
  • If a person is a base collaborator on the base that is being moved, and the base is moved to a workspace for which they are not a workspace collaborator, they will retain access to the base, as a base collaborator, at the same permission level.
  • If a person is a base collaborator on the base that is being moved, and the base is moved to a workspace for which they are a workspace collaborator, they will cease being a base collaborator for that base, and instead have access to that base as a workspace collaborator, at the permission level specified for them as a collaborator on the new workspace (NOT the permission level that was previously specified for them as a base collaborator).

Workspace sharing restrictions

In some cases, the workspace sharing restrictions that have been set up on a particular workspace may cause unexpected behavior when attempting to move a base. You can learn more here, but there are two overarching implications:

  1. Moving a base to a restricted workspace may not be allowed. This will occur when if a non-owner attempts to move a base that contains share links into a workspace with share link restrictions in place
  2. Moving a base from a restricted workspace may not be allowed - This will occur when non-owners attempt to move the base when adding new collaborators has been restricted. This means it's important to be aware that moving a base to a restricted workspace where you are not an owner will prevent you from moving it out of that same workspace.

As a best practice tip, we recommend reaching out to a workspace owner to have them help you move the base where it is needed.


Was this article helpful?