Favorite views
  • 06 Jul 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Favorite views

  • Dark
    Light

Airtable users love using a variety of different views to see their data from all angles. To help you quickly access the views most important to you, we are happy to introduce Favorite Views. You can now star your most frequently used views to add them to the easily accessible "My favorites" section at the top of the view sidebar. This article covers how to manage views in the "My favorites" section.

Overview

You can star, or favorite, your most frequently used views to add them to a separate, personalized "My favorites" section. The "My favorites" section is pinned to the top of the view sidebar so you can easily access the views most important to you.

4403795188631image101.gif

Who can favorite views

Favorite views are a premium feature available for all base collaborators on bases within workspaces that are on either a Pro or Enterprise plan.

The "My favorites" section

The "My favorites" section is located in the top of the view sidebar, and is unique to each individual base collaborator. Meaning, no one else can see which views you favorite!

4412664147479createmyviewssection1.gif

TIP

The “My Views” super section will appear if you have at least one personal view or favorite view.

Favorite views allow each person in a base to pick out which views are most important to them, without affecting other collaborators. Note that if you do not currently have any favorited views, the "My favorites" section will not be visible until you have favorited at least one view.

The "My favorites" section is collapsible, just like a view section, so you can gain back screen real estate whenever you aren't actively navigating between your favorited views:

4403788296727image7.gif

Adding a view to your favorites

There are two ways to favorite a view. The first way to favorite a view is to right-click on the view you'd like to favorite, and then choose the option to "Add to My favorites":

4403795189143image11.gif

If you don't currently have any views favorited, then favoriting a view will create the "My favorites" section.

The second way to favorite a view is to "star" that view. Hovering over a view's name in the view sidebar will cause a small star to appear:

4403795190167image8.png

Clicking on that star will add that view to your favorites. Here is what that looks like in action:

4409644841751hoveroverviewandaddtofavorites.gif

Note that favoriting a view will not affect that view's place in the view sidebar. You can think of favoriting a view, like creating a shortcut directly to that view.

Managing your favorite views

You can rearrange views within the "My favorites" section using the same drag and drop interface that is used when reordering views. Hover your mouse over the view you'd like to move, then click and drag the reorder button to rearrange that view.

4403795189527image9.gif

The views listed in the "My favorites" section act as shortcuts back to the original views. Right clicking on a view name in the "My favorites" section will reveal a limited set of options:

4403788296983image1.png

To quickly jump back to the original view, you can right click on that view in the "My favorites" section and select the "Jump to original…" option.

Removing a view from your favorites

There are three ways to remove a view from the "My favorites" section. The first way is to right click the view you'd like to remove in the "My favorites" section, then select the option to "Remove from My favorites".

4403795190423image6.gif

The second way to remove a view from your favorites is to "unstar" that view. Start by opening the view you'd like to remove, then hover over that view's name in the view sidebar. Hovering over the view name will show a solid grey star that, when clicked, will remove that view from the "My favorites" section.

4403788415639image3.gif

The third way to remove a view from your favorites is to right click on that view from the view sidebar, then choose the option to "Remove from My favorites".

4403795191191image4.gif

FAQs

I don't see the 'My favorites' section in my view sidebar; where is it?

The 'My favorites' section will only appear when you have at least one view favorited.

Does favoriting a view remove that view from its original location in the view sidebar or view section?

You can think of each of your favorite views like a shortcut that links back to the original view. The original view will not be moved, or affected, by starring it.

Will other collaborators be able to see views I have starred?

No, only you will be able to see the views you have added to your 'My favorites' section.

Can I star someone else's personal view? Will that view stay visible in 'My favorites' if I toggle off the option to "show everyone's personal views"?

You can star someone else's personal view! If you toggle off the option to "show everyone's personal views", that will not affect the visibility of the personal view in your 'My favorites" section.

Is there a limit to the number of views I can favorite?

Nope! There is no limit to the number of views you can favorite—so feel free to star away!


Was this article helpful?

What's Next