Deactivating and reactivating enterprise users
  • 02 Feb 2024
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Deactivating and reactivating enterprise users

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article Summary

Admins can use the admin panel to deactivate or provision (activate/reactivate) users. This article details how to manage collaborators from the users' page of the admin panel. 

Plan availability

Business and Enterprise Scale only

Platform(s)

Web/Browser, Mac app, and Windows app 

Related reading

Airtable terminology

  • Admin panel - A centralized set of tools to help admins manage their organization’s Enterprise account. It's a designated surface that includes ways for admins to view and manage users, groups, reports, bases, and more.

Deactivating and provisioning individual users in the admin panel 

Deactivating/provisioning (activate/reactivate) individual users

NOTE

Once a user is added as a collaborator to a base or workspace under your organization's enterprise plan, admins can manage them from the admin panel.

  1. Visit your admin panel

  2. Click Users.

  3. Search for and locate the user you want to deactivate or provision. 

  4. Click ... icon next to your preferred user's name. 

  5. Select either Deactivate or Provision.

  6. Click Deactivate or Provision to confirm your selection.

NOTE

Once someone is deactivated, their license is revoked, and their account can no longer access Airtable. If they are reactivated, they will regain access to Airtable, including their previous workspaces and bases.

Deactivating and provisioning multiple users in the admin panel 

Deactivating/provisioning (activate/reactivate) individual users

NOTE

Instead of deactivating or provisioning individual user accounts, admins can select multiple accounts and apply those changes simultaneously.

  1. Visit your admin panel

  2. Click Users

  3. Click the checkboxes to the left of your preferred users' names. 

  4. Click Actions in the top right corner.

  1. Select Deactivate or Provision users

  2. Click Deactivate or Provision to confirm your selection.

Transferring bases owned by deactivated users in the admin panel

Transferring bases owned by deactivated users

NOTE

Enterprise admins can transfer ownership of bases previously owned by now-deactivated users to themselves or another user. 

  1. Visit your admin panel

  2. Click Workspaces.

  3. Search for and locate the workspace hosting the base you want to transfer.

  4. Click that workspaces’ “bases” link under the “Bases” column.

  1. Search for and locate the base you want to transfer to a new owner.

  2. Click the ↗️ icon next to the name of the base you want to transfer.

  3. Click Share in the top-right corner

  4. Click Manage access.

  5. Search for or locate the account where you want to transfer your workspace.

  6. Click the ↗️ next to the account name’s permission level under the “Permission” column.

  7. Click the icon under the “Permission” column and select “Owner.”

  8. Click Confirm.

FAQs

How can I remove a user's admin privileges?

What happens to automations, syncs, and workspaces owned by collaborators once they are deactivated?

  • Automations - If the user you're deactivating set up any Automations that use triggers or actions with external accounts like Google or Slack, it's important to have another collaborator in the affected base(s) edit those automations to connect with their external account(s) instead. This can be done by selecting a different account from the actions' dropdown menus. Also, it would be advisable to inform your IT team to keep the user's email active or transfer ownership of any external accounts that may be connected.

  • Syncs - Syncs created by the user will stop syncing and will need to be reconfigured. If you're organization is specifically using the Emailed data sync integration, there are some unique points to consider. Unlike regular Syncs, the Emailed data sync integration will continue to function even after the owner is deactivated, as long as other users have the email address to send the file to or set as an email endpoint for automated services. However, it's important to note that ownership of the table containing the Emailed data sync integration cannot be transferred from one user to another. For a new person to assume ownership, they would need to set up a new sync. For more information on this, you can refer to this support article.

  • Workspace ownership - If the user being deactivated is a unique owner on the workspace, it's crucial to manually transfer ownership to another collaborator prior to deactivation. As an admin, you can adjust the workspace permissions via the admin panel.

Can deactivated users be removed from the user's list in the admin panel?

No. While there is no way to remove deactivated users from the user's list, you can filter deactivated users out of your results if needed.


Was this article helpful?