Airtable workspace permissions
Last updated: August 12, 2026
Plan availability | All plan types |
Permissions |
|
Platform(s) | Web/Browser, Mac app, Windows app, and mobile apps |
How do I upgrade and downgrade workspace collaborator permissions?
Check out our Billable collaborators article to learn how to upgrade and downgrade workspace collaborator permissions.
Workspace collaborator actions by permission level
We recommend having 2 workspace Owners when managing a larger team to ensure workspace management can be performed if one Owner is unavailable or leaves the company.
Action | Owner | Creator | Editor | Commenter | Read-Only |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Access all bases within a shared workspace at your assigned permission level | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
Invite users at the same or below your permission level | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
Rename shared workspace | ✅ | ✅ | |||
Add and delete bases in the shared workspace | ✅ | ✅ | |||
Rearrange bases within the shared workspace | ✅ | ✅ | |||
Move bases from the shared workspace to another workspace | ✅ | ✅ ¹ | |||
Adjust shared workspace’s billing settings; upgrade the workspace | ✅ | ||||
Assign Owner permissions | ✅ |
¹ If the destination workspace has sharing restrictions turned on, a Creator can only move the base in if:
"Restrict adding new collaborators" is disabled
"Prevent creation of new share links" is disabled
On Enterprise Scale, if "Prevent creation of new share links" is on and any view in the base already has a share link, the Creator is blocked from moving it regardless.
Being an owner in both the current and destination workspaces will always allow base transference.
Workspace Owner permission dependencies
Workspaces can have multiple Owners
The workspace Creator is the Owner by default
The workspace Creator is the only individual with permissions who can update that workspace's Owner. After those changes are implemented, either Owner can update the original owner's permissions
Only Owners can grant owner permissions
Workspace Owners have access to all of the bases that make up the associated workspace
Sole workspace Owners with multiple collaborators must transfer ownership to another collaborator before deleting their account
Only account Owners receive notifications when potential collaborators request access to a particular base
FAQs
Can I remove workspace collaborators if I'm a workspace Creator?
It depends on the workspace permission level. "Creator" is a workspace permission level that has fewer administrative capabilities than Owners. Workspace Creators cannot remove owners, adjust billing settings, or assign Owner permissions—only workspace Owners can perform these actions.
If you're unable to access your organization’s admin panel (Enterprise Scale or Business plans only) or remove collaborators from the workspace, you likely have Creator permissions rather than Owner permissions. To confirm the permission level:
Open your Airtable home screen.
Select the workspace in question from the sidebar.
Click Share in the upper-right corner.
Click into the "People with access" section.
Your permission level is listed next to your name in the list shown. You can also search for your name if there are many collaborators in the workspace.
To remove collaborators or adjust workspace settings, you'll need to contact a workspace Owner (or an Admin at your organization) to either perform the action or upgrade your permission level to be at the Owner level.