Moving bases between workspaces in Airtable
  • 07 Mar 2024
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Moving bases between workspaces in Airtable

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article summary

Plan availability

All plan types with options to restrict for paid plan workspaces

Permissions

  • Owners - can always move bases from one workspace to another

  • Creators - can move bases to another workspace in some situations

  • Editors / Commenters / Read-only - cannot move bases from one workspace to another

Platform(s)

Web/Browser, Mac app, and Windows app

Airtable terminology

  • Source Workspace - The workspace where the base you want to move currently resides

  • Destination Workspace - The workspace you want to move the base into

Moving bases between workspaces overview

Moving a base from one workspace to another can be a great collaborative tool! This article covers the ins and outs of everything you need to know about moving a base between workspaces.

To move a base from one workspace to another workspace:

  1. Navigate to the base you want to move from the Airtable home screen. Check out the dependencies section below for more details about when this is and is not possible depending on permissions and workspace settings.

  2. Click the ... spillover menu icon and choose the Move base option.
     

  3. This will cause a pop-up to appear with a dropdown menu of the available workspace(s) where you can move the base to. If you don't see a workspace that you were expecting to be available to move the base to, then you likely need higher permissions or need the workspace owner to change a related setting as outlined below.
     

Moving bases between workspaces considerations

Please be aware that when you move a base from one workspace to another, this may change which collaborators have access to a base. Moving a base from one workspace to another may also change the permission levels of users with access to the base.

Moving bases between workspaces will impact:

  • Any person who is a workspace collaborator from the original workspace who is not also a member of the new workspace will lose access to the base.

  • Any person who is not a workspace collaborator from the original workspace but is a member of the new workspace will gain access to the base, at their specified permission level for the new workspace.

  • If a person is a base collaborator on the base that is being moved, and the base is moved to a workspace for which they are not a workspace collaborator, they will retain access to the base, as a base collaborator, at the same permission level.

  • If a person is a base collaborator on the base that is being moved, and the base is moved to a workspace for which they are a workspace collaborator, they will cease being a base collaborator for that base, and instead have access to that base as a workspace collaborator, at the permission level specified for them as a collaborator on the new workspace (NOT the permission level that was previously specified for them as a base collaborator).

Workspace sharing permissions

Depending on a user's permission level and workspace settings, a user may or may not be able to move bases between workspaces.

Workspace sharing permissions overview

  • Owners can always move a base between workspaces if they are owners in both workspaces.

  • If there are no workspace restrictions in either workspace, creators can move a base between workspaces.

  • For workspaces that do have sharing restrictions, creators can move bases between workspaces only if:

NOTE

If the “Prevent creation of new share links” setting is toggled on, and any views in the base have a share link, then creators will not be able to move the base to the destination workspace (for Enterprise workspaces).

NOTE

We recommend contacting workspace owners to have them help move bases to your preferred workspace(s) .


Was this article helpful?