- 23 Aug 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
Using field and table editing permissions
- Updated on 23 Aug 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
With field and table editing permissions, you can limit who can make certain changes to fields or a table. For example, you can make sure that only some coworkers can mark a project as approved, or prevent anyone from inadvertently deleting records.
|Plan availability||Paid plans only|
|Platform(s)||Web/Browser, Mac app, and Windows app|
Changing field editing permissions
Anyone with creator or owner permissions can limit who can change the content of specific fields in your table.
You can click on the arrow next to a field's name to reveal a dropdown menu allowing you to edit the field permissions for that particular field:
You can also change the editing permissions of multiple fields at once by pressing Shift (select adjacent fields) or (select non-adjacent fields) and selecting the fields you'd like to edit. Once you've selected the fields you'd like to edit, right-click to reveal a dropdown menu and select the option to "Edit # field permissions."
NOTEWhen adjusting the permissions for specific users, organizations on our Enterprise plan will also have the option to adjust any user groups that may be collaborating in the base.
Additionally, you can choose to edit all the fields in a view at once by clicking on the checkbox in the top left corner of your table, right-clicking the field header, and choosing to Edit # of fields:
Once you've selected the field(s) you'd like to edit you can:
- Select who you would like to be able to change the contents of those fields. You can select permission levels (Creators and up, Editors and up, Nobody), or specific users.
- You can also determine whether the fields can be filled out on forms.
- If Allow this field to be set in records created through forms is off, the field will be greyed out on any forms it has been added to. Ensure the field is not required on any forms, or people will not be able to submit those forms.
- If Allow this field to be set in records created through forms is on, the field will be able to be filled out on forms.
When someone who does not have permission to edit the field clicks on it, a lock icon will appear. Other actions that would edit the field will also be disabled, such as:
- dragging the record in a calendar, kanban, or grouped records view
- cutting from or pasting into the field in a grid view
Changing table editing permissions
Paid plan users with Creator or Owner permissions on a base can limit who can create or delete records in a table.
Follow these steps to limit who can change the editing permissions on a table:
- Click the dropdown next to the table’s name > Edit table permissions
- Select who you would like to be able to create records, and who you would like to be able to delete records. You can select permission levels (Creators and up, Editors and up, Nobody), or specific users.
- You can also determine whether records can be created through forms.
- If Allow records to be created through forms is off, any forms associated with the table will stop accepting submissions.
- If Allow records to be created through forms is on, forms will continue to accept submissions.
Users who are unable to create records will see the options to create records grayed out, with an explanation that the table is locked. Other actions that would create records will also be disabled, such as:
- duplicating a record
- inserting a record at a particular spot
- creating a record in other views
- creating a record from a linked record field
Users who are unable to delete records will see the option to delete records grayed-out.
Anyone with creator or owner permissions on the base can configure or remove field/table editing permissions.
You’ll need creator or owner permissions to the base or workspace. To confirm your permission level, click Share in the top right of the base. If you don’t have creator or owner permissions, you’ll need to ask someone with creator or owner permissions to grant you this access.
Pro and Enterprise plans can use the field manager tool to find information about all of the fields in a given table. Free and Plus workspaces will need to look at each individual field's editing permissions to figure this out.
At the moment, field locking doesn't include locking a field's configuration (name, type, single select options).
Anywhere that edits can be made - field and table editing permissions apply to our mobile apps, extensions in a base, and to edits made using the Airtable API.
Yes, if you limit editing to the specific user whose API key is used by the API script or integration.