Airtable sync overview
  • 26 Aug 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark
    Light

Airtable sync overview

  • Dark
    Light

Plan limits

Workspace Plan
Synced tables per base 1
Is automatic sync available? 2
Multi-source syncs (per table)
Sync integration types (per workspace)

Enterprise

20

Yes

20

Unlimited

Pro

10

Yes

3

7

Plus

1

Yes

Unavailable

3

Free

1

No

Unavailable

1

1 You may create as many view share links with sync enabled (outgoing) as you want in a source base.

2 Automatic syncs will eventually stop on bases that don't have any recent activity. To keep automatic syncs active make sure that some kind of action is being performed in the base on a regular basis.


Sync behavior

Check out this article for more information about Sync basics, and setting up a sync. Syncing is a one-way process to get information from a source table in a base to a destination table in a base. This means that in the destination base you cannot:

  • Add or delete records in the synced table
  • Edit information in the fields that are synced

However, you can do many of the same things you can do with any regular table, including:

  • Link existing tables to synced tables
  • Create multiple views of the synced records
  • Add additional fields to the synced records to enrich them
  • Add a last modified field to see when the record was last synced
  • Add a button field to open the original record to edit it
  • Refer to the synced records from other tables using linked records and lookups
  • Use a view of the synced table to trigger automations

Field types that will sync in the same format

Number, date, single-line text, long text (Rich text), single select, multi-select, and attachment.

Computed field type

Formulas, rollups and other computed field types that produce text, numbers, or dates will sync as their result type.

Field types that sync as text

Linked, lookup, collaborator, buttons with the Open URL action.

Field types that will not sync

Authenticated attachments.

Actions that will sync from the source view

  • Adding a record (new rows may be added to the end of the view on the destination table)
  • Editing a record
  • Deleting a record
  • Adding a field (“sync all fields” must be turned on)
  • Changing a field’s configuration (supported fields)
  • Deleting or restoring a field
  • Changing the view’s filters or hidden fields

Actions that will not sync from the source view

Reordering, grouping, or sorting records.


Was this article helpful?