Sync permissions
  • 07 Jul 2022
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Sync permissions

  • Dark
    Light

360069983134squiggle14(1)Watch a training! Power up your workflow
360069983214squiggle24(1)

Overview

It’s important to consider permissions when enabling sync for a shared view. Synced tables offer the same restrictions as share links, specifically password and domain restrictions.

  • If a password is set, the creator of the synced table will be required to provide the password.
  • If a domain restriction is set, only users with the specified email domain will be able to create a synced table based on the data in the shared view.

While these permissions can help to secure your Airtable information, it's important to know that setting restrictions or changing permissions can cause existing synced tables to "break" and no longer sync. Collaborators may be required to reconfigure their synced tables to resume syncing. These scenarios are described in more detail below.

your title goes here

We’re excited to share access to this long-awaited feature. Please send us your feedback and ideas here. Users on enterprise plans may not be able to enable syncing if syncing is disallowed by their enterprise settings.

Permission scenarios

A password is set or changed on a syncable view share link

The chosen password will be needed by the sync destination creator in order to set up the sync. If a password is added or changed after a sync has been successfully setup, then all all synced tables that sync from the view will break.

An email domain restriction is set or changed on a syncable view share link

If the destination creator does not have the matching email domain attached to their Airtable account, they will not be able to set up the sync. Additionally, if a destination creator sets up a synced table and is removed from the destination base, then the sync will break and require reconfiguration before the sync is reestablished. If a domain restriction is added or changed after synced tables have been set up, existing syncs that are created by users with an email domain that does not match the new restriction will break.

A sync source creator with proper domain is removed as a collaborator from the destination base

If the email domain restriction is turned on for a syncable share link and a destination creator with the proper domain is removed from the destination base, then the sync will break. Another creator on the destination base with the correct email domain will need to reconfigure the sync.

A new syncable view share link URL is generated

All tables syncing from the view will break. It will be necessary to reconfigure the sync in the destination base again.

Sync is disabled for the view share link

All tables syncing from the view will break. It will be necessary to reconfigure the sync in the destination base again.


Was this article helpful?

What's Next