View super sections
  • 06 Jul 2022
  • 5 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

View super sections

  • Dark
    Light

We are excited to introduce an organizational structure that will automatically separate and elevate your essential views: super sections for “My views” and “All views”. Super sections are automatically created organizational structures that allow you to easily navigate and manage all your views.

Overview

We currently have two super sections: “My views” and “All views”. Super sections group together relevant view types into easily accessible and collapsible sections of the view sidebar and additionally include shortcuts that allow you to easily create new views on the fly.

All your most relevant views (i.e. favorite / starred views and personal views) will automatically live in the “My views” super section. Everything else remains accessible from the “All views” section (which also will now include a new folder for personal views).

4412676767511myviewsvallviews1.png

You can collapse an entire super section to gain even more screen real estate

4412663903639collapseviewSection.gif

Below, we’ll dive more into the differences between the super sections, “My views” and “All views.”

“My Views” super section

The “My Views” super section hoists up your personal and favorite views to the top of the view side panel and separates your views into automatically created view sections for organization.

The “My Views” super section is located in the top left of the view side panel. “My views” surfaces the views most important to you: your personal views and your favorite views.

TIP

The “My Views” super section will appear if you have at least one personal view or favorite view.

4412664147479createmyviewssection.gif

Within the “My Views” super section, there are two automatically created view sections that are aptly named:

  1. “My favorites” - this section will automatically appear if you have favorited any views. To learn more about favoriting views, see this support article.
  2. “My personal views”- this section will appear if you have any personal views for the current table.
    • The views in the “My personal views” section are displayed alphabetically and cannot be reordered.

The views listed in the "My favorites" and the “My personal views” sections are shortcuts back to the original views. To quickly jump back to the original view, you can right-click on any of the views in the "My Views" super section and select the "Jump to original…" option.

4412664202135personalviewjump.png

Personal view creation shortcut

The “My views” super section also introduces a new shortcut to easily create new personal views on the fly:

4412671549463newpersonalviewshortcut1.png

Clicking on the “+” button next to “My Views” will autofill the view’s permission type as “Personal” and prefill the name of the new view as “[Your Name]’s Viewtype”:

4412677068567createpersonalviewshortcut1.gif

“All Views” super section

The “All Views” super section is located right below the “My Views” super section in the view side panel.

4412664107031allviewsspotlight.png

The “All Views” super section will contain any view sections you created as well as two automatically created view sections that will appear only if any views meet the criteria described below.

Within the “All Views” super section, there are two automatically created default view sections:

  1. Collaborative views” (or “More collaborative views”) - will contain any collaborative or locked views that haven’t been added to a user-created view section.
  2. Personal views” (or. “More personal views”) - will contain any personal views created by you or other collaborators that haven’t been added to a user-created view section.

You can think of the “Collaborative views” and “Personal views” sections as defaults, sorted by permission type, for views that don’t yet have a home in another view section.

4412677135639morepersonalviews.jpg

If you haven’t created a new view section yet, your views will all be sorted into the “Collaborative views” or “Personal views” sections based on their view permission type:

4412671843479collabandpersonaldefault.jpg

Once you have created a view section, the names of the default sections will change to “More collaborative views” and “More personal views.” The name change reflects that you can add both collaborative and personal views to user-created view sections:

4412671952151createviewsectioncollabviewsappear.gif

You can easily move a view from either of the default view sections within the “All Views” super section to a new view section created by you or another collaborator:

4412664565399dragcollabviewintoviewSection.gif

However, since the automatic sections are based on a view’s permission type, you cannot move a view from the “Personal views” section to the “Collaborative views” section. Here is a gif of us trying and failing to move views between these default view sections:

4412664578071dragpersonalviewintoviewSection.gif

Collaborative view creation shortcut

The “All views” super section also introduces a new shortcut to create new collaborative views and view sections easily:

4412671696407collabviewshortcut1.png

Clicking on the “+” button next to “All Views” will autofill the view permission type as “Collaborative”:

4412677347479createcollabviewfromviewSection1.gif

FAQs

What happens if I remove all of my favorite views and my personal views?

The “My views” super section will disappear until you create a new personal view or favorite another view.

What happens if I remove all of my personal views? What about my favorites?

If either the “My favorites” or the “My personal views” sections are empty, they will disappear until you fill them again.

Will the default “Personal Views” section show up if I don’t have any personal views?

By default, if you do not have any personal views on a table, you will not see the “Personal Views” view section. However, if you toggle the "Show everyone's personal views" option, the “Personal Views” section will appear if any of your collaborators have personal views.

4412671345687showotherpersonalviews.gif

If I move a collaborative view to a new view section, will it still be located in the default “Collaborative Views” folder?

Any collaborative view moved to a new user-created view section will only be located within that view section.

Can I change the permissions view type when using the “My Views” or “All Views” view creation shortcuts?

Yes, simply select another collaboration type by clicking on one of the other permissions types before creating a new view.

What happens if I favorite a personal view?

That view will appear in both the automatic “My favorites” and “My personal views” view sections within the “My views” super section.

Can I create View sections in the “My Views” super section?

All view sections created by users will automatically be in the “All Views” super section. You cannot create view sections within the “My Views” super section at this time.

Can I reorder the automatically created view sections in either the “My Views” or “All Views” super sections?

You cannot move any automatically created view section in either “My Views” or “All Views” super sections.


Was this article helpful?

What's Next