The Admin Panel is a centralized tool to help Airtable admins manage their organization’s Enterprise account. In the Admin Panel, admins can take an active role in maintaining security and modifying user and group access to Airtable workspaces and bases by various means. This article is a high-level overview of what Admins can accomplish within the Admin Panel.
To accommodate for all of the various ways that admins may need to manage their organization’s use of Airtable the Admin Panel has various points of overlapping functionality. This article and the other support materials linked below are meant to help admins understand and master these various means to an end. Broadly speaking, the Admin Panel allows admins to:
- Invite new users and see pending user invites
- Adjust user and group permissions
- Deactivate users connected to their Enterprise’s Airtable account
- Generate helpful reports related to user activity and other data points
- Dictate restrictions or security settings for their organization across Airtable.
But, that’s just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to Admin Panel’s capabilities.
NOTEThis support documentation is for the UI that admins will see if their enterprise contracts were signed before Nov 15, 2021. Enterprise contracts signed after Nov 15, 2021 will see slight UI differences.
Airtable has 2 types of enterprise agreements that you can learn more about here. Because of the way that FLA agreements work, sometimes there may be certain functionality that differs in your organization’s Admin Panel UI. We do our best to call this out in the support articles whenever relevant.
Navigating to the Admin Panel
In order to access the Admin Panel, you will need to have been granted “Admin” access by another admin first. Be sure to reach out to your organization’s IT administrators to make sure that you have the proper credentials before proceeding.
The Admin Panel can be reached one of two ways:
- From the Airtable home page, admins will see the “Admin” option after clicking on the profile icon in the upper right corner.
- If you are logged into an Airtable account that has admin credentials, then you can type airtable.com/admin into your browser’s search bar.
This will bring admins to a page that looks like this:
Admin Panel pages
In the navigation sidebar on the left side of the Admin Panel, there are various categories where admins can click to open pages that will display important information from each category’s viewpoint. To learn more about how to use the information and options in these pages as an Airtable admin click on any of the links below:
Can I require 2FA from the admin panel?
The admin panel allows you to see who does not have 2FA enabled, but it does not allow you to enforce 2FA. If you would like more control over user authentication, we recommend using SSO, which allows you to enforce 2FA.
Can admins invite new users to Airtable from the Admin Panel?
Yes, they can. More info here.
When a previously active user deletes their account, will that deletion or history show up in the admin panel?
This information will not show up in the admin panel.
Can I quickly filter for users who have not enabled 2FA?
You can use advanced filters in the user management tab to filter for 2FA, specific account creation dates, emails, names, and more.
What will it look like when an account is deactivated? Do they receive an alert?
When an account is deactivated, the user will see a message in the sign-in dialogue that says “That account has been deactivated. Please contact your organization administrator.” Users are not notified of deactivation.
What happens to a workspace when its owner is deactivated in Admin panel?
When an owner of a workspace is deactivated, the workspace (and its contents) are unaffected. However, owners can only be deactivated if there is at least one other owner or no other collaborators in the workspace. If there are no other collaborators in the workspace, it will no longer be accessible. In this case, if the admin needs to access it, they’d need to reactivate the owner's account or assign another owner prior to deactivating the first owner.
Can I see active users/last seen from admin panel?
The field "Last Activity Time" displays when the user was last active. Activity is calculated any time a user is logged in and takes an action in a base. (Actions include: loading a base, adding content to a base, or editing content in a base.) Loading the workspace home page would not count as activity. If the user remains logged in for an extended period of time with no activity, the last activity time will not be updated. (Note: Activity is being tracked from November 2019 onward.)
When domain restricted share links settings are turned on, does it immediately apply to all share links, or only net new links?
All links are affected, regardless of when they were created.
Are forms included in domain restrictions?
Forms are included in domain restrictions unless you opt to exclude them. To do this, toggle the “Allow unrestricted access to shared forms” option.
Can I hold off on adding users to my Enterprise account until SSO has been enabled, or bulk deactivate?
We support programmatic disabling/re-activating users via SCIM for Okta (and only Okta). For additional details and setup instructions, please read our support article.
For FLA, what is the difference between “admins,” “upgraders,” and “collaborators”?
Everyone on your account is considered a collaborator. Some collaborators can be designated as admins and upgraders. Only upgraders will have the ability to upgrade a workspace (through the workspace settings dialog). Only admins have access to the admin panel, where they can add or remove collaborators, designate upgraders, manage security controls and more. Note: Admins are not automatically considered upgraders, but an admin can designate themselves to be an upgrader through the admin panel.