- How does billing work?
- Who counts as billable collaborator?
- How does the Pro trial work?
- What happens if I change my plan from annual to monthly? And vice versa?
- What happens if I change the number of billable collaborators on a workspace?
- I'm paying a different amount than I was expecting.
- I'd like to pay with credits.
- I upgraded by accident.
- Another member of my team signed up for Airtable with my credit card.
In Airtable, workspaces are upgraded, not accounts. When a workspace is upgraded, all bases within the workspace will have premium features (other workspaces will not be affected). Billing is based on the number of people who can edit (or comment on) at least one base in the upgraded workspace. Read-only collaborators or people submitting forms are free. Anyone who is a workspace owner can upgrade a workspace. All charges for the workspace are charged to the payment card used for the upgrade.
Airtable plan changes are automatically prorated, including adding or removing collaborators or switching plans. On both monthly and annual plans, we bill for any changes once per month.
Billing is based on the number of people (base or workspace collaborators) who can edit (or comment on) at least one base in the upgraded workspace. Read-only collaborators or people submitting forms are free.
A workspace owner can manage its billable collaborators from the workspace's settings page.
On the Pro Trial, the top workspace in your account is upgraded to a complimentary Pro plan for 14 days. You can select which plan to move the workspace to after the Pro trial by clicking the Pro trial Banner to the right of the workspace's name.
If you would just like to compare the Pro trial with the free plan, you can create a new free workspace by clicking Add a workspace below the Pro trial workspace.
If your workspace is on a Pro trial and you let the trial expire, your workspace will lose access to the premium features only available on the Airtable Pro plan. These include blocks, premium forms, advanced calendar features, record coloring, personal and locked views, domain/password restricted share and invite links, year-long snapshot and revision history, and increased record and attachment limits (50,000 records per base versus 1,200 on free, 20GB of attachments per base versus 2GB on free).
If you are on monthly plan and change to the annual plan, you will be instantly changed to the annual plan, but you will not be invoiced for the entire year's commitment until the end of the current month. At that point, you will be charged for each billable collaborator for exactly 12 months (at the discounted rate for the annual billing plan).
Conversely, if you move a workspace to a monthly plan in the middle of annual plan, you will be refunded in Airtable Credits for the rest of your annual commitment within a month.
For monthly plans
If you add a billable collaborator to a workspace on a monthly plan, you won't be charged until the next monthly billing date (which is typically the same day of the month as when the workspace was first upgraded). On that day, you'll be charged a prorated amount for the period of the previous month during which the collaborator had billable access to the workspace, as well as for the forthcoming month.
If you remove a billable collaborator from a workspace on a monthly plan, on the next monthly billing date you will receive a prorated refund of Airtable Credits for the days that the collaborator did not have billable access to the upgraded workspace.
For annual plans
If you add a billable collaborator to a workspace on an annual plan, you will initially be charged for the full remaining annual commitment for that collaborator. If you remove a billable collaborator from a workspace on annual plan, you will be granted a refund in Airtable credits prorated to the day the collaborator was removed.
Adding a collaborator:
Three months after upgrading a workspace to an annual plus plan ($120/collaborator/year), you add a billable collaborator to the workspace. You would then be charged an additional $90, for the new collaborator's access for the remaining nine months of the annual commitment.
Removing a collaborator:
Ten months after upgrading a workspace to an annual pro plan ($240/billable collaborator/year), you remove one billable collaborator from the workspace. You would then receive a prorated refund of $40 of Airtable Credits for annual commitment's remaining two months
These examples are simplified for the sake of clarity - any of these charges or refunds would be prorated to the day any billable collaborators are added or removed.
I was just charged and...
If you have a question about a charge/invoice from Airtable, we recommend first visiting your account page, from a laptop or desktop. From your account page, you can:
- Manage the collaborators on an upgraded workspace
- View all past invoices and charges
- Change a workspace's plan
- Apply Airtable credits to a workspace
- Change the credit card uploaded to a workspace
The invoice amount will change with the number of billable collaborators on an upgraded workspace. You can view/manage access for all billable (i.e. non read only) collaborators on an upgraded workspace by going to your account page from a laptop or desktop. From there, just click to the upgraded workspace in the left sidebar.
If you don't want to pay for a collaborator, you can either change their permission settings to read only, or remove them from all bases in the workspace.
To adjust access for base collaborators, click into each of the bases they belong to.
To adjust access for workspace collaborators, click Add or manage workspace collaborators at the bottom of the list.
Upon removing billable collaborators or changing their permission settings to read-only, you'll be auto-issued corresponding refunds of Airtable credits, prorated to the collaborators' remaining paid commitments. The credit refunds will go through a month after your most recent invoice.
Please contact our support team if you have further questions.
To pay for an upgraded workspace with Airtable Credits, the credits first have to be applied to that workspace (you can only apply credits to workspaces that you are an owner of). You can apply credits to a workspace by going to your account page, and then clicking into that workspace's settings page in the left sidebar.
Once credits are applied to a workspace, any future charges from that workspace will first be deducted from the workspace's credits.
If you upgraded an Airtable workspace by mistake, you can proceed to downgrade by clicking the plan to the right of the workspace's name.
Upon downgrading, you'll be auto-issued a refund of Airtable credits, prorated to your remaining paid commitment. This credit refund will go through a month after your most recent invoice.
Please contact our support team if you have further questions.
If you didn't sign up for Airtable but have a charge from us on your credit card statement, we recommend first checking whether a coworker or family member may be using Airtable - in our experience, this accounts for most unexplained charges. If you can't identify who's responsible for a charge, contact us with the details of the charge (date, amount, and last four digits of the credit card), and we'd be glad to help figure this out.