- 05 May 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
Upgrading or changing your workspace's plan
- Updated on 05 May 2023
- 4 Minutes to read
This article describes how to go about upgrading or changing your workspace's billing plan. To unsubscribe from any paid plan, you can downgrade your workspace to a free plan. You can only change your workspace's billing plan if you are an owner of that workspace. If you are not a workspace owner and you would like to change the workspace plan, please contact that workspace's owner or owners.
You can only change your workspace's billing plan if you are an owner of that workspace. If you are not a workspace owner and you would like to change the workspace plan, please contact that workspace's owner or owners.
Upgrading from free to paid
To upgrade your workspace's plan, go to your workspace settings page. You can access your workspace's settings page by going to your account page, then clicking the title of the workspace you'd like to upgrade in the left sidebar.
You can also access your workspace settings page by clicking the dropdown arrow that appears next to the name of the workspace, then click the gold Upgrade workspace option. (You can also click the Workspace settings option—either one will bring you to the workspace settings page, which is where you can upgrade your workspace.)
Note that if you are not a workspace owner, you will not be able to access the workspace settings page for that workspace.
Selecting a plan
In the billing plan section of the workspace settings page, you can click the blue "Change billing plan" option after the summary of your workspace's current plan.
This will bring you to a page that will allow you to choose from the Free, Plus, and Pro plans, and whether you want to pay annually or monthly.
Once you select a plan, you'll be brought to a checkout page where you can confirm the plan type, payment cycle, and how many users you'll be paying for before you put in your credit card info. At the bottom of the page, you can also see the amount for which you'll be immediately charged, and the future dates on which you'll be charged again. (If you have Airtable credits, you can also apply them to your bill at this time.)
If you want to adjust the plan type or billing cycle at this time, you can click the plan and billing cycle dropdown options.
The checkout screen shows how many users will be charged under the plan and payment schedule. You can see more details about the users for which you're being charged by clicking on the underlined number of users.
From the detail dialog that pops up, you can see the name and email address of each user for whom you're being charged. By mousing over each user, you can also see their permission level (creator, editor, or commenter), whether a person is a workspace collaborator or base collaborator, and—if they are a base collaborator—the base(s) to which they have access.
One quick way to visually distinguish between workspace and base collaborators is to check the icon next to the user name and account—a workspace collaborator will have a small black-and-white icon showing a group of people, while a base collaborator will have the icon of the base(s) to which they have access.
Once you've confirmed your payment plan and the users you'll be paying for, click the green Upgrade button. You should then see a confirmation screen.
Adding and changing credit card information
You can enter your debit/credit card information from the checkout screen.
You can also add a debit/credit card to your account by going to the workspace settings page, then clicking the option to Add payment details in the payment section. This will bring up a window in which you can enter your card information.
If your card is accepted, it will be kept on file.
To change your card information on file, go to the workspace settings page again, then click the option to "Update payment details" or "Remove card" in the Payment section.
Changing your paid plan
Changing your paid plan is pretty much the same as the process for upgrading your plan from free to paid.
To change your workspace's plan, go to your workspace settings page. (If you are not a workspace owner, you will not be able to access the workspace settings page for that workspace.)
In the billing plan section of the workspace settings page, click the blue Change billing plan option after the summary of your workspace's current plan.
This will bring you to the plan selection page again—select the new plan to which you'd like this workspace to be changed to.
Downgrading a paid workspace to the Free Plan
Following the same process mentioned above, if you choose to change your paid workspace to the free plan, then you'll be brought to the plan checkout screen. Downgrading a paid workspace may result in the loss of access to some premium features, which will be detailed on the plan checkout screen. We also recommend double-checking the workspace settings page for the workspace you're downgrading to make sure that the number of records and amount of attachment storage used for each base does not exceed your new plan's limits.
At the bottom of the page you'll need to confirm the switch to downgrade. If you do confirm the switch to the Free plan, you will receive a final invoice for your current billing cycle. This final invoice will either charge any outstanding overages or apply any remaining balance as a credit to your workspace.
TIPIf you have more questions about billing, then check out our FAQ billing article here.