How to create a view
  • 06 Jul 2022
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

How to create a view

  • Dark
    Light

In this article, we'll cover the process of creating a new view from start to finish. To learn more about views in general, check out this support article.

Creating a new view

Start by opening up the view menu and going down to the section labeled "Create...". If your view creation section is collapsed you will need to expand it by first clicking on the word "Create..." in the bottom left-hand portion of the view sidebar.

With the view creation section open, you can hover over each of the view type options for a brief explanation of that view type.

4409303499159hoveroverviewcreatetypes.gif

Once you've picked a view type, clicking on that type will open up the menu to create your new view. You can now choose the view permission type and name your view as part of the view creation process: This will help ensure that critical information about the view (i.e. name & permission type) are captured upfront.

4412601565847createnewviewwithpermissiontype.gif

You can choose from the three view permission types:

  1. Collaborative views: viewable and configurable by all collaborators
  2. Personal views : views that can only be configured by the current owner of that view and are hidden from other collaborators by default
  3. Locked views: views that other collaborators cannot edit unless the view has been explicitly unlocked

You can choose to change a view’s permission type at any time from the view settings menu.

4412589213335changeviewtype.png

Once you've created your new view you can name it, show/hide fields on it, filter out records, and order the records manually or by sorting them.

The attributes of a grid view that can be saved for that individual view include:

When you aren't creating a new view, you can gain a little more screen real estate by collapsing the "Create" section of the view sidebar.

4409303536023collapseandexpandcreateview.gif

TIP

After you've created a few views, you can switch between them easily by selecting views from the view switcher. Note that you can toggle the view switcher using the keyboard shortcut **⌘ ⇧ K** (command + shift + K).

Newly created views in large bases are personal by default

Personal views are now the default permission type for large bases (defined as bases with over 20 views, and where there are more than three different collaborators creating views).

4412604095895personalviewsinlargebases.png

If you’d like to choose another permission type when creating a new view, you can easily change the settings by selecting any of the other view permission type options before clicking “Create new view”:

4412604170519changeviewpermissiononcreation.gif

To learn more about personal views please see this support article.

Creating views from view super sections

We currently have two super sections : “My views” and**“All views”**. Super sections group together relevant view types into easily accessible and collapsible sections of the view sidebar and additionally include shortcuts that allow you to easily create new views on the fly.

Personal view creation shortcut

The “My views” super section introduces a new shortcut to easily create new personal views on the fly:

4412671549463newpersonalviewshortcut.png

Clicking on the “+” button next to “My Views” will autofill the view’s permission type as “Personal” and prefill the name of the new view as “[Your Name]’s Viewtype”:

4412677068567createpersonalviewshortcut.gif

Collaborative view creation shortcut

The “All views” super section introduces a new shortcut to create new collaborative views and view sections easily:

4412671696407collabviewshortcut.png

Clicking on the “+” button next to “All Views” will autofill the view permission type as “Collaborative”:

4412677347479createcollabviewfromviewSection.gif

FAQs

Do I have to choose the name for a view as I create it?

Whenever you create a new view, it will generate a unique default name for that view. For clarity, we do recommend giving each of your views a different descriptive name. You can also choose to rename your view after it’s created.

If my base is not on a premium plan, will the default view type change in large bases?

Personal views are a premium feature available for bases within workspaces on Pro and Enterprise plans. So regardless of your base’s size, if your workspace is not on our premium plan, you will not have access to premium or locked views unless your workspace plan is upgraded.

4412604251671permissionswindow.jpg


Was this article helpful?

What's Next